December 30th, 2010
by deaconcat08

The College Football Researchers Association has elected the Tennessee Volunteers as its 1998 college football national champion. 

Here is the first-place voting breakdown for this season:

  1. Tennessee (13-0)- 13 votes
  2. Tulane (12-0)- 2 votes

The 1998 season was the inaugural year of the BCS, and while Tennessee was the unanimous champ in the Coaches and AP Poll for that season, undefeated Tulane was able to garner two first-place votes in the ‘98 CFRA poll.  This marks the first-time in this retrospective championship series that a non-AQ team has received first-place votes.

I hope you will continue to follow the CFRA’s retrospective championship project in which a different champion will be revealed and recognized each day from December 26th until the night before the title game.  For more information about the CFRA and its retrospectively-elected champs, please go here:  The official site of the College Football Researchers Association is:


Posted in National Collegiate Athletic Association | Comments (0)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Featuring WPMU Bloglist Widget by YD WordPress Developer