|100 px (Photo credit: Wikipedia)|
Apparently, all of the grumbling about the way USA won the game against the Russians will cause the IIHF to change the dislodged net rule.
Barry Petchesky, Deadspin – The IIHF intends to go that route too. President Rene Fasel spoke to reporters today. From Championat.ru, via and translated by Puck Daddy:
What can you say about the disallowed goal because of the dislodged net?
“We will change that rule. To disallow a goal because of two centimeters? That’s nonsense. But that is the existing rule, nothing can be done. That’s why I think that this rule needs to be changed and officiate the way it is done in the NHL. That’s what we will do.”